Robert Curgenven + Richard Chartier - Built Through

Robert Curgenven
Built Through
Label: Not On Label (Robert Curgenven Self-Date of released) ‎– none
Type: 4 x File, FLAC, Album, Reissue
Date of released: 04 Mar 2018
Category: Electronic
Style: Abstract, Experimental, Minimal


1 Invariance Strata 13:44
2 Displacement 9:24
3 Built Through Both Sides 25:30
4 Acquisition Eviction 7:13


  • Cover [Cover Image] – Robert Curgenven
  • Mastered By – Giuseppe Ielasi


1: Original composition “of surfaces–variance” from 2002’s Of Surfaces (LINE_008) by Chartier. Processed through three improvisations for a 16 foot single manual pipe organ recorded in West Penwith, Cornwall, August 2010.

2: Field recording by Curgenven from Urunga, Australia, March 2010. Digitally reprocessed/reworked by Chartier. Further processing by Curgenven through an improvisation for binaural microphones, wine glasses, two turntables and linear series dubplate, recorded in London, October 2010.

3: Originally composed by Chartier at Garage Festival in Stralsund, Germany 2004 and Paris, France 2005. Lost, found, and reworked using digital means and field recordings by Chartier in 2011. Processed through: guitar feedback recorded by Curgenven in Milan and London in 2010; turntables and linear series dubplates recorded London 2011; field recordings from Berlin, 2004-2007. Mixed in London and Cornwall, November 2010-July 2011.

4: Original composition “series 6” from 2000’s Series (LINE_001) by Chartier. Processed through a matrix of pieces for nine turntables, linear dubplates and ventilator, recorded in London, live in Manchester and Budapest, September-November 2010. Mixed at 4 The Field, Nancledra, Cornwall, March 2011.

Mastering: Milan, Italy, March 2012.

Digital version available for download from Bandcamp in a variety of file formats.

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
LINE_056 Robert Curgenven + Richard Chartier Robert Curgenven + Richard Chartier - Built Through ‎(CD, Album, Ltd) Line LINE_056 US 2012
LINE_056 Robert Curgenven + Richard Chartier Robert Curgenven + Richard Chartier - Built Through ‎(4xFile, FLAC, Album) Line LINE_056 US 2012