Rubeck - KAOS

Label: I Am Unsigned ‎– UNS003
Type: CD, Album, Limited Edition, Stereo
Country: France
Date of released: 31 Mar 2016
Category: Electronic
Style: IDM, Experimental


1 Back home 4:50
2 G in X out 5:46
3 Paris 4:46
4 Sci-fi 4:20
5 Bipolar 4:26
6 Shallow 5:14
7 Havok 6:00
8 Hell low 1:37
9 News 4:24
10 13.512 5:54
11 Classified 6:45
12 Back home (Extended) 5:12
13 In the beginning 4:09
14 Revenue (Negative mix) 6:26


KAOS signals the return of rubeck, the outfit which represents Toni Bélmez, the acclaimed Spanish producer based in Paris. This is his first release since 2014’s The Incident and is a return in several senses, notably that he revisits the sounds we most associate him with, hearkening back to his first material of the early noughties.

The newest chapter in the rubeck story is a collective requiem for the artist’s close friend Ginés Cabrejas Carrión, who died unexpectedly in the summer of 2015. In fact it is Ginés who challenges us in the stunning photo on the front cover, and who earns the dedication of this strong record.

KAOS contains 11 instrumental tracks featuring a patina of electronic music reminiscent of the late nineties, early 2000s. Think of it as the offspring which combines the ambient atmospheres of Boards of Canada, naïve melodies of Plaid and multi-layered, manipulated beats of early Autechre, Funkstörung and Aphex Twin.

The album probes tried-and-tested, yet innovative, styles of electronica in diverse forms: from tantalising rhythmic exercises which build on deconstructed layers (Back Home, Paris) via melodic pop-infused landscapes (Shallow, Bipolar, Classified), to hip hop (News), dropping effortlessly into the darker luscious soundscapes we’ve come to expect from rubeck (G in X out, Havok, Hell low, 13.512).
The album is released under unsigned, a label rubeck created some time ago to release his music, which is as yet unsigned. It will be readily available in both CD and digital formats.

The first CD edition features three bonus tracks which were released in early March on the Back Home single, previously available as a free download exclusively on
KAOS is rubeck at his captivating best – an enticing multifaceted mix of complex, edgy, yet satisfying melodies. From the first listen, it will entrance you.

Will T Paris
[email protected]

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5054960043954